跳至主内容

2020年 生命科学与医学奖

格罗 • 米森伯克
彼得 • 黑格曼
格奥尔格 • 内格尔

以表彰他们所研发的光遗传学,一项彻底改革了神经科学发展的技术。

 

得奖人简介

格罗 • 米森伯克<br/>彼得 • 黑格曼<br/>格奥尔格 • 内格尔

贡献

2020年度邵逸夫生命科学与医学奖平均颁予格罗 • 米森伯克 (Gero Miesenböck)彼得 • 黑格曼 (Peter Hegemann)格奥尔格 • 内格尔 (Georg Nagel),以表彰他们所研发的光遗传学,一项彻底改革了神经科学发展的技术。格罗 • 米森伯克是英国牛津大学韦恩弗莱特生理学讲座教授暨神经回路与行为中心主任。彼得 • 黑格曼是德国柏林洪堡大学神经科学赫蒂讲座教授暨生物物理系系主任。格奥尔格 • 内格尔是德国维尔茨堡大学 分子植物生理学教授。

要明白大脑的运作是一项艰巨的挑战。 鉴於人类大脑中有许多个亿的神经细胞,每个神经元可以与其他神经元进行数以千计的接触,导致天文数字的突触连接。感谢2020年度邵逸夫生命科学与医学奖得奖人:牛津大学的格罗 • 米森伯克、柏林洪堡大学的彼得 • 黑格曼和维尔茨堡大学的格奥尔格 • 内格尔,他们近年在科学技术方面的发现提供了有效的工具,让我们能够追踪和控制实验动物的神经网络。

 

继续阅读

 

 

得奖人获奖介绍

Understanding the brain is a daunting challenge. Each of the many billions of nerve cells in the human brain may make thousands of contacts with other neurons, resulting in an astronomical number of synaptic connections. The tools that allow us to trace and regulate neural networks in experimental animals have emerged in recent years thanks to the discoveries of our Shaw Life Science Awardees for 2020: Gero Miesenböck of Oxford University, Peter Hegemann of Humboldt University, Berlin, and Georg Nagel of the University of Würzburg.

 

Neuroscientists had long sought methods to control the activity of individual nerve cells in order to understand the networks in which they communicate and define the processes they control. Direct activation of nerve cells by physical or chemical means had been used for over two centuries, but the dream had been to modify nerve cells genetically so that electrical signals could be induced or suppressed remotely, allowing a less invasive and more precise means of controlling the function of neural networks in an intact organism. The first key breakthrough came in 2002 with the development of an optogenetic tool devised by Gero Miesenböck. Using a naturally light-responsive protein, rhodopsin, which serves as the pigment on which we rely for vision, his team inserted the Drosophila (fruitfly) genes necessary to express the light-responsive rhodopsin into a vertebrate nerve cell culture.

 

继续阅读

 

 

 

得奖人简介

Gero

格罗 • 米森伯克

 (Gero Miesenböck)

格罗 • 米森伯克  (Gero Miesenböck) 在1965年於上奥地利州出生,现为英国牛津大学韦恩弗莱特生理学讲座教授暨神经回路与行为中心主任。他於奥地利因斯布鲁克大学取得博士学位后,於纽约纪念斯隆凯特琳研究所从事博士后研究(1992–1998),其后出任助理研究员和神经系统实验室总监 (1999–2004)。同时,他亦在美国康奈尔大学神经科学、细胞生物和遗传学担任助理教授。在出任牛津大学教授之前,他担任美国耶鲁大学医学院细胞生物、细胞与分子生理学副教授 (2004–2007)。格罗 • 米森伯克亦是奥地利科学院、德国科学院和英国皇家学会院士。

2020年5月21日   香港

 

得奖人自传

 

Peter H

彼得 • 黑格曼  (Peter Hegemann)

彼得 • 黑格曼  (Peter Hegemann) 在1954年於德国明斯特市出生,现为德国柏林洪堡大学神经科学赫蒂讲座教授暨生物物理系系主任。1975年至1980年间於德国明斯特大学和慕尼黑大学修读化学,并在1984年於德国马克斯普朗克生物化学研究所取得博士学位。他曾於美国雪城大学任职博士后研究员 (1985–1986)。返回德国后,他於马克斯普朗克生物化学研究所成立研究小组 (1986–1992),其后担任德国雷根斯堡大学教授(1993–2004),并於柏林洪堡大学出任教授 (2005–) 和神经科学赫蒂讲座教授 (2015–)。彼得 • 黑格曼是德国利奥波第那国家科学院院士。


2020年5月21日   香港

 

得奖人自传

 

Nagel

格奥尔格 • 内格尔 (Georg Nagel)

格奥尔格 • 内格尔  (Georg Nagel) 在1953年於德国魏恩加滕出生,目前是德国维尔茨堡大学分子植物生理学教授。他於德国康斯坦茨大学修读生物及生物物理学,1988年於德国法兰克福大学取得博士学位。在美国耶鲁大学和美国洛克菲勒大学完成博士后研究工作后,他於1992年返回德国,担任马克斯普朗克生物物理研究所生物物理化学系组长。他自2004年起出任维尔茨堡大学分子植物生理学和生物物理学教授。

2020年5月21日    香港

 

得奖人自传

 

 

得奖人特写

 

2020年度邵逸夫生命科学与医学奖讲座

"Lighting Up the Brain" 由格罗 • 米森伯克教授主讲、 "Optogenetics, Shaping with Light" 由彼得 • 黑格曼教授主讲,以及 "From Biophysics to Optogenetics, A Surprising Journey with Microbial Rhodopsins" 由格奥尔格 • 内格尔教授主讲

Skip to main content

The 2020 Prize in
Life Science & Medicine

Gero Miesenböck,
Peter Hegemann,
Georg Nagel

for the development of optogenetics, a technology that has revolutionized neuroscience.

 

Learn More About the Laureate

Gero Miesenböck,<br/>Peter Hegemann,<br/>Georg Nagel

The Contribution

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine 2020 is awarded in equal shares to Gero Miesenböck, Waynflete Professor of Physiology and Director of the Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour, University of Oxford, UK, Peter Hegemann, Hertie Professor for Neuroscience and Head of the Department of Biophysics, Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany and Georg Nagel, Professor for Molecular Plant-Physiology, Physiological Institute – Department of Neuroscience, University of Würzburg, Germany for the development of optogenetics, a technology that has revolutionized neuroscience.
 
Understanding the brain is a daunting challenge. Each of the many billions of nerve cells in the human brain may make thousands of contacts with other neurons, resulting in an astronomical number of synaptic connections. The tools that allow us to trace and regulate neural networks in experimental animals have emerged in recent years and thanks to the discoveries of our Shaw Life Science Awardees for 2020: Gero Miesenböck of Oxford University, Peter Hegemann of Humboldt University, Berlin, and Georg Nagel of the University of Würzburg.

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

About the Laureate

Gero

Gero Miesenböck

Gero Miesenböck was born in 1965 in Upper Austria and is currently Waynflete Professor of Physiology and Director of the Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour at the University of Oxford, UK. He received his MD from the University of Innsbruck, Austria. He did postdoctoral research at the Memorial Sloan Kettering Research Institute in New York (1992–1998) and remained as an Assistant Member and Head of Laboratory of Neural Systems there (1999–2004). At the same time, he was also an Assistant Professor of Neuroscience, Cell Biology and Genetics at Cornell University, USA. He served as Associate Professor of Cell Biology, Cellular and Molecular Physiology at Yale University School of Medicine, USA (2004–2007) until he moved to his current position in Oxford. He is a member of the Austrian and German Academies of Sciences and a Fellow of the Royal Society of London.


21 May 2020    Hong Kong

 

 

 

Peter

Peter Hegemann

Peter Hegemann was born in 1954 in Münster, Germany and is currently the Hertie Professor for Neuroscience and Head of the Department for Biophysics at Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany. He studied in Chemistry at the University of Münster and Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitat ät München (LMU Munich) from 1975 to 1980. He received his PhD from Max-Planck Institut (MPI) for Biochemistry, Germany (1984). He was a Postdoctoral Fellow at Syracuse University, USA (1985–1986). He then returned to Germany and started a research group at MPI for Biochemistry (1986–1992), after which he became a Professor at the University of Regensburg, Germany (1993–2004) and has been appointed Full Professor (2005–) and Hertie Professor for Neuroscience (2015–) at the Humboldt University of Berlin. He is a member of the German National Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina.


21 May 2020    Hong Kong

 

 

 

Georg

Georg Nagel

Georg Nagel was born in 1953 in Weingarten, Germany and is currently a Professor for Molecular Plant-Physiology at the University of Würzburg, Germany. He studied Biology and Biophysics at the University of Konstanz, Germany and received his PhD from the University of Frankfurt, Germany in 1988. After postdoctoral work at Yale University, USA and Rockefeller University, USA, he returned to Germany in 1992, as a group leader in the Department of Biophysical Chemistry at the Max Planck Institute of Biophysics. Since 2004, he has been Professor of Molecular Plant-Physiology and Biophysics at the University of Wurzburg.

 


21 May 2020    Hong Kong

 

 

 

Feature Story