跳至主內容

2021年 天文學獎

維多利亞 • 卡士比
赫里莎 • 庫韋利奧圖

以表彰她們對理解磁星作出貢獻。磁星是一種高度磁化的中子星,與很多壯觀的瞬變天體物理學現象有關。她們開發了新穎和精確的觀測技術,從而證實具有超強磁場的中子星存在,並描繪出它們的物理特性。她們已將磁星確立為一種嶄新而又重要的天體物理物體。

 

得獎人簡介

維多利亞 • 卡士比<br/>赫里莎 • 庫韋利奧圖

貢獻

2021年度邵逸夫天文學獎平均頒予維多利亞 • 卡士比 (Victoria M Kaspi) 赫里莎 • 庫韋利奧圖 (Chryssa Kouveliotou),以表彰她們對理解磁星作出貢獻。磁星是一種高度磁化的中子星類別,與很多壯觀瞬變天體物理學現象有關。她們開發了新穎和精確的觀測技術,從而證實具有超強磁場的中子星存在,並描繪出它們的物理特性。她們已將磁星確立為一種嶄新而又重要的天體類別。維多利亞 • 卡士比是加拿大麥吉爾大學物理學教授暨麥吉爾太空研究所所長。赫里莎 • 庫韋利奧圖是美國喬治華盛頓大學物理系教授暨系主任。

中子星是恆星爆炸後的超壓縮殘餘物。它們大多數快速自轉,週期從毫秒到秒,並發出強大的電磁輻射光束 (表現為脈衝星)。因此,它們是精確的「宇宙時鐘」,可以讓人們在引力場比地球強幾十億倍的情況下進行基本物理測試。有關脈衝星的研究取得了兩次諾貝爾物理學獎(1974年和1993年)。

 

繼續閱讀

 

 

 

得獎人簡介

 

 

維多利亞 • 卡士比

(Victoria M Kaspi)

維多利亞 • 卡士比 (Victoria M Kaspi) 在1967年於美國德克薩斯州 奧斯汀出生,現為加拿大麥吉爾大學物理學教授暨麥吉爾太空研究所所長。1989年於麥吉爾大學取得物理學學士學位,並分別在1991和1993年於美國普林斯頓大學取得物理學碩士和博士學位。她於美國加州理工學院、噴氣推進實驗室和美國麻省理工學院任職後,1999年成為麥吉爾大學助理教授,及後獲頒加拿大國家教席,屬於該校獲此名銜的最早一批,在2006年出任洛恩 • 特羅捷天體物理學講座教授。維多利亞 • 卡士比是美國國家科學院、美國人文與科學院和英國倫敦皇家學會院士。

 

2021年6月1日  香港 

 

 

赫里莎 • 庫韋利奧圖

(Chryssa Kouveliotou)

赫里莎 • 庫韋利奧圖 (Chryssa Kouveliotou) 在1953年於希臘雅典 出生,現為美國喬治華盛頓大學物理系教授暨系主任。1975年於希臘雅典國立卡波季斯特里安大學取得物理學學士學位,在1977年於英國蘇塞克斯大學取得理學碩士學位,並在1981年於德國慕尼黑科技大學獲得天體物理學博士學位。她畢業後返回國立卡波季斯特里安大學擔任助理教授 (1982–1994)。其後,在1991年加入美國太空總署 (NASA) 馬歇爾太空飛行中心工作。直到2015年,她轉到喬治華盛頓大學擔任物理學教授。赫里莎 • 庫韋利奧圖是美國國家科學院、美國人文與科學院、荷蘭皇家藝術與科學學院和希臘雅典科學院院士。

 

2021年6月1日  香港

Skip to main content

The 2021 Prize in Astronomy

Victoria M Kaspi
Chryssa Kouveliotou

for their contributions to our understanding of magnetars, a class of highly magnetized neutron stars that are linked to a wide range of spectacular, transient astrophysical phenomena. Through the development of new and precise observational techniques, they confirmed the existence of neutron stars with ultra-strong magnetic fields and characterized their physical properties. Their work has established magnetars as a new and important class of astrophysical objects.

 

Learn More About the Laureate

Victoria M Kaspi<br/>Chryssa Kouveliotou

The Contribution

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy 2021 is awarded in equal shares to Victoria M Kaspi, Professor of Physics and Director of McGill Space Institute, McGill University, Canada and Chryssa Kouveliotou, Professor and Chair, Department of Physics at George Washington University, USA for their contributions to our understanding of magnetars, a class of highly magnetized neutron stars that are linked to a wide range of spectacular, transient astrophysical phenomena. Through the development of new and precise observational techniques, they confirmed the existence of neutron stars with ultra-strong magnetic fields and characterized their physical properties. Their work has established magnetars as a new and important class of astrophysical objects.
 
Neutron stars are the ultra-compact remnants of stellar explosions. Most are rapidly rotating with periods of milli-seconds to seconds, and emit powerful beams of electromagnetic radiation (observed as pulsars). As such they are accurate “cosmic clocks” that enable tests of fundamental physics in the presence of a gravitational field many billion times stronger than that on Earth. As a result, the Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded twice for work on pulsars (1974 and 1993).

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

About the Laureate 

 

Victoria M Kaspi

Victoria M Kaspi was born in 1967 in Austin, Texas, USA and is currently a Professor of Physics and Director of McGill Space Institute, McGill University, Canada. She received her Bachelor’s degree in Physics from McGill University in 1989 and obtained her MA and PhD in Physics from Princeton University, USA in 1991 and 1993 respectively. After positions at the California Institute of Technology, the Jet Propulsion Laboratory and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, she then became Assistant Professor at McGill in 1999. At McGill, she held one of McGill’s first Canada Research Chairs and she was named the Lorne Trottier Professor of Astrophysics in 2006. She is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a Fellow of the Royal Society of London. 

 

1 June 2021    Hong Kong   

 

 

 

Chryssa Kouveliotou

Chryssa Kouveliotou was born in 1953 in Athens, Greece and is currently a Professor and Chair of the Department of Physics at George Washington University, USA. She received her Bachelor’s degree in Physics from the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece in 1975, completed an MA in Science at the University of Sussex in 1977 and obtained a PhD in Astrophysics from the Technical University of Munich, Germany in 1981. She was an Assistant Professor at the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (1982–1994). She joined NASA Marshall Space Flight Center in 1991. In 2015, she moved to George Washington University as Professor of Physics. She is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Royal Netherlands Academy of Art and Sciences and the Academy of Athens, Greece. 

 

1 June 2021    Hong Kong