跳至主內容

2021年 生命科學與醫學獎

斯科特 • 埃姆爾

以表彰他所發現的內體蛋白分選轉運複合體 (ESCRT) 途徑,對於涉及膜生物學的多樣化過程至關重要,其中包括細胞分裂、細胞表層受體調節、病毒傳播及 軸突修剪等。這些過程對於生命、健康及疾病尤其重要。

 

得獎人簡介

斯科特 • 埃姆爾

貢獻

2021年度邵逸夫生命科學與醫學獎頒予斯科特 • 埃姆爾 (Scott D Emr),以表彰他所發現的內體蛋白分選轉運複合體 (ESCRT) 途徑,對於涉及膜生物學的多樣化過程至關重要,其中包括細胞分裂、細胞表層受體調節、病毒傳播及軸突修剪等。這些過程對於生命、健康,及疾病尤其重要。

讓生命變得有可能,細胞必須將特定的生物組分在適當的時候 放置在適當的位置。這個範疇便是今屆邵逸夫生命科學與醫學獎 得主斯科特 • 埃姆爾的專長。埃姆爾在細胞內囊泡運輸方面獲得開創性的發現。囊泡是一種膜包裹著的小泡,內裡充滿液體,負責將生物組分傳送至細胞內不同的「目的地」。這些「目的地」叫作細胞器,是一種膜包裹著的單元,負責不同的細胞功能。在一系列劃時代的研究當中,埃姆爾利用精巧的基因手段,識別40個編碼ESCRT組合成分的基因。埃姆爾結合分子、生化以及 結構的方法找出這40個ESCRT蛋白的特性,並闡明其單個及聯合作用。

 

繼續閱讀

 

 

 

得獎人簡介

斯科特 • 埃姆爾

 (Scott D Emr)

斯科特 • 埃姆爾  (Scott D Emr) 在1954年於美國新澤西州澤西市 出生,現為美國康奈爾大學分子生物學及遺傳學法蘭克•羅德講座 教授暨威爾細胞及分子生物學研究所所長。1981年於美國哈佛醫學院取得分子遺傳學博士學位,並曾在美國加州大學柏克萊分校擔任 苗勒研究學者 (1981–1983)。隨後,他加入美國加州理工學院工作, 先後出任助理教授及副教授 (1983–1991)。他在加入康奈爾大學之前,曾在美國加州大學聖地牙哥分校醫學院出任特聘教授,以及在美國 霍華德休斯醫學研究所擔任研究員 (1991–2007)。斯科特 • 埃姆爾是美國國家 科學院及美國人文與科學院院士。

2021年6月1日   香港

Skip to main content

The 2021 Prize in
Life Science & Medicine

Scott D Emr

for the landmark discovery of the ESCRT (Endosomal Sorting Complex Required for Transport) pathway, which is essential in diverse processes involving membrane biology, including cell division, cell-surface receptor regulation, viral dissemination, and nerve axon pruning. These processes are central to life, health and disease.

 

Learn More About the Laureate

Scott D Emr

The Contribution

The Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine 2021 is awarded to Scott D Emr, Frank HT Rhodes Class of 1956 Professor of Molecular Biology and Genetics and Director of the Weill Institute for Cell and Molecular Biology, Cornell University, USA for the landmark discovery of the ESCRT (Endosomal Sorting Complex Required for Transport) pathway, which is essential in diverse processes involving membrane biology, including cell division, cell-surface receptor regulation, viral dissemination, and nerve axon pruning. These processes are central to life, health, and disease.
 
For life to be possible, cells must put particular bio-components in the proper location and at the proper time. Here is where this year’s Shaw Laureate in Life Science and Medicine, Scott Emr, comes in. Emr made seminal discoveries in the field of intra-cellular vesicle trafficking. Vesicles are small membrane-bound, fluid-filled sacs that transport bio-components to different destinations inside cells. The destinations are called organelles, which are membrane-bound entities responsible for distinct cellular functions. In a landmark series of studies, Emr used elegant genetic strategies that enabled him to identify 40 genes that encode the components of the so-called ESCRT pathway (ESCRT stands for Endosomal Sorting Complex Required for Transport). Emr combined molecular, biochemical, and structural approaches to characterize the 40 ESCRT proteins and to elucidate their individual and combined roles.

 

To Continue Reading

 

 

 

 

About the Laureate

Scott D Emr

Scott D Emr was born in 1954 in Jersey City, New Jersey, USA and is currently Frank HT Rhodes Class of 1956 Professor of Molecular Biology and Genetics and Director of the Weill Institute for Cell and Molecular Biology, Cornell University, USA. He received his PhD in Molecular Genetics from Harvard Medical School, USA in 1981. He was a Miller Research Scholar at the University of California, Berkeley, USA (1981–1983). He then worked at the California Institute of Technology, USA, where he was successively Assistant Professor and Associate Professor (1983–1991). Prior to joining the faculty at Cornell, he was a Distinguished Professor at the School of Medicine, University of California, San Diego, USA and an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (1991–2007). He is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.


1 June 2021    Hong Kong