Skip to main content

The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony 2018 Press Invitation

The Shaw Prize Award Presentation Ceremony will be held in Hong Kong on Wednesday, 26 September 2018. You or your representative(s) are cordially invited to attend the event. Details are as follows:

Date:26 September 2018 (Wednesday)
Time:6:00pmPress Registration & Briefing
 6:15-7:25pmGuests Reception & Registration (interview & photo-taking at press zone only)                       
 7:25-8:30pmAward Presentation (* photo-taking at press zone only)
Venue:Grand Hall, New Wing, 3/F, Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre


Officiating Guests
The Honourable Mrs Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor, Chief Executive of the HKSAR, People’s Republic of China, will officiate the ceremony.

Professor Frank H ShuCouncil Member & Acting Chairman of the Board of Adjudicators,
The Shaw Prize Foundation
Professor Reinhard GenzelChairman of the Shaw Prize in Astronomy Selection Committee
Professor Randy W SchekmanChairman of the Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine Selection Committee                      
Professor Timothy GowersChairman of the Shaw Prize in Mathematical Sciences Selection Committee

Shaw Laureates in Attendance

AstronomyDr Jean-Loup Puget 
Life Science and MedicineProfessor Mary-Claire King 
Mathematical SciencesProfessor Luis A Caffarelli

*       A press station for photo taking will be located in the Grand Hall, 45 meters (150 feet) away from the stage. Press members are advised to bring telephoto lenses and the necessary equipment.
The duration of the excerpt news footage cannot exceed 3 minutes (the Award Presentation Ceremony will be broadcast on HKTVB Jade and Pearl on 29 September at Hong Kong time 2300–2330 and on 1 October at Hong Kong time 1805–1835 respectively).

For press enquiries, please contact Link-Work Communications (HK) Ltd:

Joanne YikTel: 2918 0901 / 9216 3710
Viviane PangTel: 2918 0907 / 6414 8496

Invited by The Shaw Prize Foundation
Presented by Link-Work Communications (HK) Ltd

21 September 2018  Hong Kong