Skip to main content

About the Shaw Prize

The Shaw Prize


“Grasp the law of nature and make use of it”





The Shaw Prize is an international award to honour individuals, regardless of race, nationality, gender and religious belief, who are currently active in their respective fields and who have recently achieved distinguished and significant advances, who have made outstanding contributions in academic and scientific research or applications, or who in other domains have achieved excellence. The award is dedicated to furthering societal progress, enhancing quality of life, and enriching humanity's spiritual civilization.
Preference is to be given to individuals whose significant works were recently achieved and who are currently active in their respective fields.
The Shaw Prize consists of three annual awards: the Prize in Astronomy, the Prize in Life Science and Medicine, and the Prize in Mathematical Sciences. Each prize carries a monetary award of one million two hundred thousand US dollars. The nomination process begins in September, the winners are announced in the following summer and the prizes are presented in autumn.
The Shaw Prize, established under the auspices of Mr Run Run Shaw in November 2002, is managed and administered by The Shaw Prize Foundation based in Hong Kong.



The Prize


Astronomy has experienced tremendous growth and development during the past fifty years as the entire electromagnetic spectrum from radio waves to gamma rays was opened to investigation.

Life Science & Medicine

Discoveries in the biomedical sciences and innovations in clinical medicine have led to significant victories in our longstanding war against illness and suffering.

Mathematical Sciences

Mathematics is the basic language of all natural sciences and all modern technology. In the twentieth century mathematics made tremendous strides both in opening new frontiers and in solving important and difficult old problems.





More About the Prize